cases, regulatory control over extra-provincial motor vehicle undertakings is exercised by provincial highway transport boards, acting as agents of the federal government, as provided for in the Motor Vehicle Transport Act. The commission is responsible for undertaking studies and research into the economic aspects of all modes of transport within, into or from Canada.

Five committees perform the regulatory duties: the railway transport committee, the air transport committee, the water transport committee, the motor vehicle transport committee, and the commodity

pipeline transport committee

The commission consists of not more than 17 members, including a president and two vice-presidents, appointed by the Governor-in-Council for a maximum of 10 years; it reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Canadian Wheat Board. The board was incorporated in 1935 under the Canadian Wheat Board Act (RSC 1970, c.C-12) to market, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor-in-Council, the board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat but since August 1949 it has also been authorized to buy barley and oats. Only grain produced in the designated area, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and parts of British Columbia, is purchased by the board, which controls the delivery of grain into elevators and railway cars in that area as well as the interprovincial movement for export of wheat, oats and barley generally. The board reports to Parliament through a designated minister, at present the minister of transport.

Cape Breton Development Corporation. This proprietary Crown corporation was created by an act of Parliament in July 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-13) and came into existence by proclamation on October 1, 1967. It was set up to rationalize the coal industry of Nova Scotia's Cape Breton Island and to broaden the base of the area's economy by assisting financing and development of industry to provide employment outside the coal mines.

The corporation acquired former interests of the major coal producer in the Sydney coalfield and is operating three mines, two of them new, a modern coal preparation plant and other ancillaries. It is active in development of tourism, primary products and secondary industries.

The act provides for a board of directors, comprising a chairman, a president and five other directors. Head office is located in Sydney. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of regional economic expansion. Its operations are financed by the federal government.

Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation. This Crown agency was incorporated by an act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c.46) in December 1945 to administer the National Housing Act. Under the National Housing 1954 Act (RSC 1970, c.C-16), the corporation insures mortgage loans made by approved lenders for new and existing housing and makes direct loans in resource communities and rural areas; guarantees home improvement loans made by banks; undertakes subsidized rental housing projects and land assembly developments under federal-provincial arrangements; offers loans and subsidies for public housing projects; makes loans for land assembly projects to be used for general residential development; makes loans to individuals or organizations for low-rental housing projects; makes loans to provinces and municipalities, with provincial concurrence, for sewage and water treatment projects designed to eliminate water and soil pollution; makes contributions and loans to provinces and municipalities for neighbourhood improvement; conducts housing research; encourages urban planning; and owns and manages rental housing units including those built for war workers and veterans. The corporation arranges for and supervises construction of housing projects on behalf of other government departments and agencies. It is responsible to Parliament through the minister of state for urban affairs. The national office of the corporation is in Ottawa with branch offices in major urban areas.

Columbia River Treaty Permanent Engineering Board. The permanent engineering board, consisting of two Canadians and two Americans, was established under the 1964 Columbia River Treaty between Canada and the United States. The board assembles records and inspects and reports at least annually on matters within the scope of the treaty. It reports to Parliament through the minister of energy, mines and resources.

Commissioner of Official Languages. Appointed by Parliament pursuant to the Official Languages Act (RSC 1970, c.O-2), the commissioner holds office for a term of seven years, renewable until age 65. He is responsible to Parliament for ensuring recognition of the equal status of French and English as Canada's official languages and for ensuring compliance with the spirit and intent of the act in all the institutions of the Parliament and Government of Canada. The commissioner is empowered to receive and investigate complaints from the public and, on his own initiative, to conduct investigations into possible violations of the act. The results of investigations must be communicated to the complainants and the institutions concerned and may, at the commissioner's discretion, be the subject of a special report to Parliament. The commissioner reports annually to Parliament on the conduct of his office and may make recommendations for changes in the act as he deems necessary or desirable.